Kitty!

We got a kitten!

Isn’t she just so cute? We went to the Humane Society last night. That place, by the way, breaks my heart. I just want to take all the animals home with me.

This guy looks so so sad. I just wanted to give him a big hug.

Turns out Isaac and I have pretty different taste in cats. He likes sleek, short haired cats, and I like the big fluffy ones like this guy:

His name is Ike. We played with him for a while but he basically just sat and didn’t want to play at all, so I put him back in his prison.

But then we found this one. She likes playing, she likes cuddling, she purrs, she’s house trained, she looks like a tiger. All good things in my book.

It took  me a little while to warm up to her. In fact, I wasn’t in love with her till we put her in the box and left the Humane Society. She started crying and my heart melted.

She warmed up pretty quick once we got her home. She explored, jumped on everything, ate some food, and then cuddled up. She likes being underneath things like chairs and tables…maybe she feels safer in enclosed areas?

We named her Maddy (short for Madison) but I’m not positive that she looks like a Maddy. Isaac really likes her name so we’ll see.

I love her.

15 responses to “Kitty!

  1. pretty girl! i like her white nose.
    that place does break my heart. but it gives me a little bit of hope as well.

    • I agree – knowing that next time I go in there, all the animals I saw this time will have good homes. I’m glad I could help out :)

  2. oh my word! what a precious kitty! :)

  3. Yes, crafting for yourself is so much fun! Sometimes I just have to get a wild hair and get some stuff done! hehe.

  4. eeeee what a cute cat! I love her colors! I have been wanting a cat since mine died :-/ We still have another one but it’s not the same as having 2!

  5. oh my gosh, her markings are so BEAUTIFUL.
    I love her!!!!

  6. Oh she is stunning! I’m with Isaac, I like the short sleek cats too. Her markings are so beautiful, and that face is adorable! And thank you for going to a rescue!

  7. Congratulations, she’s adorable!!!! I’d want to take all the animals home from the shelter, too. That’s how I felt when we got our dog :)

    Thanks for your comment on my tutorial :)

  8. Aww…she’s a cutie!

  9. oh i love me a sweet kitty! Don’t you love seeing her explore and get to know her new environment…soon to be home sweet home :) My hubby detests cats *sigh* But I’m patient and will wait ’til we have a little girl and then SHE’LL ask him. haha Kind of a different plan, but that’s all I got in hope for a cat :)
    And i’ll have to check out Parenthood! I’ve seen commercials…looks good :)

  10. she’s adorable! congrats to you for rescuing an animal who needs it…

  11. Ummm…. seriously, cutest cat ever. No joke.

    Katie P
    Food, Wine, & Mod Podge — Vinyl Giveaway!!

  12. Oh my gosh she is SO cute! ♥
    We used to have a tiger kitty… his life was short, but he had the BEST personality…

    Yay for supporting the Humane Society too…
    ;)

    ♥ Janell

  13. congratulations! she is beautiful. i love her stripeys!

    i have to admit – i felt the same way about our kittens. i was panicking that we’d adopted the ‘wrong ones’ (aka ones that would not love us), but their tiny meows on the car ride won me over. and the shenanagins. oh, the shenanigans.

    now i wonder how we ever got by without them.

    looking forward to more kitty updates. :)

Leave a Reply

