Review: East of Eden

Have you ever read one of those books that you couldn’t put down but also couldn’t figure out where it was going?  Atonement was one of those books.  Even though it was slow and roundabout, I loved it.

East of Eden is very similar.  It’s a long, winding, saga of the Hamilton and Trask families.  It has all the ingredients of a thrilling drama – romance, crime, prostitution, and more than one dysfunctional family – but it’s written in such a matter-of-fact, logical way that even a teenage girl burning down her house and killing her parents didn’t phase or shock me at all.

This is the first John Steinbeck book I’ve read and it makes me want more.  Lucky for me, I picked up like four other Steinbeck books at the Crook County Library’s fill-a-paper-bag-for-two-bucks sale.

On to something a little less dark.  Maybe A Tree Grows in Brooklyn?

I guess what it comes down to is, I’ll definitely have to go back and read East of Eden again and make a decision later.  I have this problem where I speed through books to find out what’s going to happen but I do a lot of skimming and miss a lot in the process.  I get so much more out of it the second time.  Does anyone else do that?  And have you read East of Eden?  What did you think?

One response to “Review: East of Eden

  1. i LOVEd East of Eden! And I love when I know nothing about a storyline to begin with, and it just unfolds as I read. You (literally) never know what might happen next. :P

    ps – well, if commenting twice does make you a stalker, than I agree: “Meh” indeed. ; )

    so glad you found my blog, because i’m really enjoying reading yours. : )

Leave a Reply

