Unread Library

Julie at Pancakes and French Fries is doing something that is very logical.  And also very awful.  She’s going to read every book she owns – but has never read – before buying any new books.

What a good idea. I hate her.

Now I have to read all the books I’ve collected but haven’t ever read.

What if I find a book that I absolutely HAVE TO HAVE and what if it’s on a REALLY GOOD SALE?  I’m not even talking Borders’ 40% sale, I mean a really really good sale.  Like Book Bin Used Book store sales rack sale.  How am I supposed to not pick it up?  I mean, I’ll never find it for such a good price again.

Ugh.  Fine.

Here’s my list.  I’ll probly write a little review when I finish each one.

David Copperfield | Charles Dickens
The English Patient | Michael Ondaatje
O Pioneers | Willa Cather
The Last of the Mohicans | James Cooper
1984 | George Orwell
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn | Betty Smith
Mansfield Park | Jane Austen
Suite Francaise | Irene Nemirovs
The Alchemist | Paul Coelho
The Man Who Loved Books Too Much | Allison Hoover Bartlett
All the President’s Men | Carl Bernstein & Bob Woodward
Fire at Eden’s Gate | Brent Walth
Inside the Third Reich | Albert T Speer
The Widow of the South | Robert Hicks
The Pillars of the Earth | Ken Follett
Caribbean | James Michener
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle | David Wroblewski
The Glass Castle | Jeannette Walls
Pope Joan| Donna Woolfolk Cross
Cannery Row | John Steinbeck
Of Mice and Men | John Steinbeck
The Devil’s Brood | Sharon Kay Penman
Game Change |John Heilemann & Mark Halperin
The Shack | William P. Young
The Fountainhead |Ayn Rand

It appears that there’s no rhyme or reason to what I like to read.  A little English medieval royalty.  A tiny bit of politics.  Some history.  And a lot of random.

A lot of the “random” category came from the super awesome annual Friends of the Crook County Library sale.  I mean, when I can spend my 4th of July at the library, packing as many books as possible into a brown paper bag and all of it only costs $2…what else is there to do except get two full bags?

And no, it’s not in order.  David Copperfield doesn’t qualify as “summer reading.”

11 responses to “Unread Library

  1. The only book from there that we both have on our unread list is “The Last of the Mohicans,” but I know what you mean. I have a pretty lengthy list of unread books as well, most of them picked up when the bargain was just too good to turn down. One of these days I’ll be able to stop buying books long enough to be able to finish all of them! Ironic considering I’m planning on picking up some of Joyce’s writing tonight… Ah, well. Never a bad thing to have more reading ready.
    I’ve never heard of it before, but did you catch the irony of having a book among there, “The Man Who Loved Books Too Much”? Seemed too good of an opportunity to pass off pointing it out!

    • I found a book in my pile called “Ruined by Reading.” I don’t remember exactly what it was about, but the title fits. I love your stack. In fact, I was looking at a few on your list and thought, “Oh yeah, I always wanted to read that one…”

      Terrible.

    • Ha, I didn’t even catch the irony. It’s about a man who steals old first edition books…I don’t think I’m to that point yet, thankfully!

  2. Sorry, I hit reply instead on comment. Bah. Oh well, you know what I meant to do. :)

  3. I’ve read a lot of them on your list (former english major….)
    Enjoy!

  4. That is a good idea, but I will never go for it. I’m a book hoarder. I’m actually just on my way to bed now with some Charlie Brown “books” I picked up a bunch for a dollar. Good grief!

    Good luck with your project! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! (The Glass Castle is one of my all time favourites!)

  5. Wow, that is quite a list!! I’m totally impressed that you’re going to tackle it ;). My goal is to read Les Miserables (en francais!) at some point before I die…

  6. Maybe David Copperfield isn’t summer reading, but it is very good. Also, Mansfield Park IS summer reading and might be a good place to start. Can you count them as read if you do audio books, unabridged of course??? That is how I conquered a few on my list, like Atlas Shrugged by Rand. I listed to books while I sew or quilt.

  7. Leyla,
    Are you from Prineville? We lived there for two years since my hubby was offered his first professional job out there. It’s beautiful country.

    • Yes! I grew up in Prineville and my family is still there. I love Central Oregon so much…the rain and clouds here in the Willamette Valley get to me. Eventually we’ll move back over there :) How long ago were you guys in Prineville?

Leave a Reply

