Step-by-Step: Low Sugar Raspberry Jam

My mother-in-law has the most fantastic garden and her raspberries bushes are full of fruit right now.  We intended to pick enough for one batch of jam but this is what we ended up with just a tad bit more.  And by “tad,” I mean “lots.”

Most jam recipes call for almost twice as much sugar as fruit and that drives me crazy.  I mean, I want to taste the fruit, not the sugar, thank you very much.  We used Sur-Jell Low Sugar Pectin…it’s my favorite.

We usually have to borrow water bath canners but my husband bought me a pretty new one the other day:

So, here’s Low Sugar Raspberry Jam, step-by-step:

1. Fill your water bath canner about half full and put it on the stove.

2. Wash seven jars, rings and lids.  Good for you if you’re re-using jars, but make sure to get new lids.  Jars and rings can be used over and over again but lids need to be new in order to get a good seal.

3. Crush your berries one layer at a time using a potato masher.  You need 5 cups.

4. Measure 4 cups sugar into a separate bowl.  Take 1/4 cup sugar out of that bowl and mix it with the pectin in another bowl.

5. Put the sugar/pectin mixture and the fruit into a large pan on the stove

6. Stir until it comes to a full rolling boil.  A “full rolling boil” happens when you’re stirring and it keeps boiling.

7. Add the sugar and boil for exactly one minute, stirring constantly.  Yes, it makes a mess and you might popped.

8. Take it off the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes.  When the timer goes off, spoon the foam off the top.  Save this to eat with saltines later. <—This is my favorite part of the whole process :)

9. Ladle into jars.  I usually use half-pint jars.  I think they’re pretty – and the perfect size for gift-giving.

10. Use a wet paper towel to clean the tops of the jars.  Put the lid on the jar and screw the ring on.  You’re almost done!
11. Carefully put the jars into the water bath canner.  As soon as it starts boiling, set the time for 10 minutes.

12. When the timer goes off…you’ve made jam!  Using your tongs, take the jars out of the canner and set them on a towel.  Listen for the lids to seal – you’ll hear a nice loud “pop!”

8 responses to “Step-by-Step: Low Sugar Raspberry Jam

  1. I LOVE rasberries. Your stove looked similar to mine when I was making strawberry jam once. Actually….they boiled over and I ruined a burner or two!!

    Great blog! Keep up the good work.

  2. Hi, i used your recipe with only a few changes: i had 8 cups of crushed raspberries, i added the juice from 1 lemon, and i used no sugar pectin and only 1.5 cups of sugar and got AMAZING jam! I took some to work and everyone is raving about how it is not too sweet and not too tart! It really is lovely and I owe it to your simple recipe! Thank you!

    • hi, dont know if you’re on here any longer as this post is nearly a year old, but how long do you expect the jam to last with less sugar. I always heard sugar is the preservative, but if we can get low sugar and about a year out of the jam, fantastic

    • I actually wanted to respond to David, although I’m sure he won’t see this now 2 years later. However, I want to make it clear that sugar is not necessary for preserving. I always use the no sugar pectin with either 1 cup of sugar OR 1 cup of apple juice concentrate (just because I usually feel that the berries need something). I have had my jam last for years (sometimes I make WAY to much because I just can’t stop picking and canning – it becomes an obsession). Also, Sure Jell wouldn’t tell you that you could use no sugar if it would be a problem. Just a thought.

  3. This recipe looks super simple! I’m going to try and make raspberry jam for the first time. I could not find the low sugar pectin you used but I was wondering if I used regular pectin if I could still use this recipe? Thanks!

  4. Here’s a fun way to let the kiddos help out. I put the berries into a gallon ziplock bag and make sure it is sealed well. Then the little ones smash up the berries by walking on the bag. They think it is quite fun. Just be sure you let all the air out of the bag before you seal it up and let the kids stomp on it. If there is too much air in the bag it can pop open and those lovely raspberries go oozing out all over the place! We did the same thing to mash the bananas for the banana bread. (I guess squeezing the bags of fruit might work as well.)
    LindaS.

  5. I have made several different raspberry jams this month, trying to find the ‘right one’….I found it!! This is the best by far that I have made, thank you, thank you, thank you! Oh, and my family thanks you too!

  6. i used your recipe to some extent but I use Pomona’s Pectin. it can use no sugar, some sugar honey,or an artificial sweetener. i buy it in bulk on ebay. it is a calcium reactive pectin with no perservatives or chemicals. , it doesn NEED sugar to jell. worked great with your recipe,

Leave a Reply

